top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Grillo

The Circle of Life is a Cabaret and All that Jazz

It has been a while since my last blog post. I'm not sure if people read these as much as browse my graphic design and photography content, but here it is. An update post.


Life is...crazy. I am in my third year of education and I have finally accomplished a career aspiration I have had since high school. Becoming a drama teacher. Teaching theatre has always been one of my biggest goals in life. The Theatre Educators that paved the way for me and many others were so influential that I wanted to give back to the future thespians. After three years of asking my boss for a drama club and fighting covid restrictions, we were able to make it happen.


90% of my cast had never done theatre before and I had never directed younger than college freshmen. We worked our tails off for 5 months and put on a pretty awesome show if I do say so myself. I am beyond proud of my kiddos and now that drama club is done for the year, I miss spending an extra hour with them twice a week. I am already planning for next year, so if any of my kiddos are reading this even though I forbid them to google me for privacy reasons...log off and go do your homework!


This show was extra special because it marked 15 years of doing theatre for me. I started as a quiet stage hand in 6th grade and now I am the leader of the chaos bringing the next generation of thespians to the forefront and helping them shine. In 15 years if I learned one thing, it was to never stop searching for your voice. Finding your style is an ongoing journey that will only cease when you force it to. My advice is to go with the flow. Look at Taylor Swift and how much she must be capitalizing on her many Eras during this tour. You will find yourself eventually. The best thing is that it doesn't have to be your final version. Growing old may be mandatory, but growing in personality, love, and kindness is even better. The world would be boring if we all stayed the same. Just like in music, dynamic lives are more fun.


That's just one of many updates, but I hope to write some more as summer gets closer and I am prepping for the next school year.


Until then,

Have a sparkling day ;)






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page